moral opposition to exams

I’m kind of morally opposed to exams.  Don’t people trust I’m learning?  I’m too old to be tested on this crap.  I am in the middle of midterms and don’t expect much sympathy from anyone, I chose to be in graduate school, but I feel like there has to be a more progressive way of learning.  Well, there is I suppose.  Projects and hands-on experience happen.  And I’d prefer a paper over an exam any day.  What exams are to me: a reason to cram information into your head and memorize random facts you may never use again in life.   So cynical, but it’s how I’m feeling right now.

I’m a fairly motivated person and when it is important for me to learn something on the job or for life in general, I learn it.  I will go out of my way to make sure I understand.   So exams seem weird to me.

What makes me more angry is it doesn’t matter what I think about exams, I still have to take them and my grade will depend on it.  Then comes the question whether I care about that either.  I suppose the consequences of getting bad grades can be high, particularly if I have some sort of funding that requires a certain GPA.  Or if I want to get a Ph.D. which is a big fat “no” right now.

Writing in a blog complaining about exams while I should be studying may not be such a good idea.

Leave a Reply

