Driving: drunk on the cool evening breeze.

Driving home from a friend’s house this evening I found myself thinking of late nights when I’d drive up Pacific Coast Highway in San Diego from La Jolla to Del Mar and beyond.  The ocean was a shimmering black with frosty white waves crashing up toward the shore.  I’m not sure why these memories surfaced, it’s been over 10 years since I’ve lived there.  But I imagined driving with the windows down, my favorite music blasting and the wind in my face.  The air would be cool and crisp as most southern California evenings are.

I am pretty sure what spurred such memories and sensations was rolling down my window tonight and feeling the cool air rush in.  It’s been so hot lately in Hawaii and I haven’t felt the cool night air since last winter.

These drives served as a form of therapy.  Late at night, the roads were completely empty with no one around.  There were long stretches of road with no stop lights or stop signs and I’d drive for miles and miles.   I realize here in Hawaii I don’t really have that option.  I could drive toward Hawaii Kai or even up to Makapu’u for a nice drive, but it doesn’t feel the same.  Hawaii is a relatively small island and driving there would be like going half way around the island.

I miss living on the mainland.  I want to know I can drive forever if I wanted to.

Leave a Reply

