Gas, liquids, solids and surf

Pretty amazing how chemistry can practically bring me to tears.  Memories of being in high school and not “getting it” come to the surface and I feel like I just can’t do it.  But I have to in order to graduate.  I’m sitting here, glaring at my chem book and sipping seltzer water.

Been surfing a lot in the past week.  I feel like I owe it to myself to get back into it.  The last time I surfed regularly was over 10 years ago and I may as well be a complete beginner again. The past year I’ve been in Hawaii I look at the waves almost daily and I want to be in waves, not just observing them.  I think it’s time.  We’ll see how long it lasts, but I hope it stays with me.

I am not sure why I threw myself back into school this fall so quickly.  I wanted a distraction and I had no idea what else to do with myself.  So I walked forward in the only direction I knew how to at the time.  So here I am.  Crying over chemistry.

One thought on “Gas, liquids, solids and surf

  1. Ah, it’s it amazing how we can be taken right back to childhood emotions? I feel like sometimes simply being with my siblings can make me feel and act like a 12-year-old again! Good luck with the chemistry – I am sure that with focus and support you’ll get through it. It is wonderful to hear you are surfing again – there is something amazing in this sort of physical interaction with your environment, being entirely present in the moment and the element; it pushes endorphins through our bodies, and brings us into new spaces. I hope it continues to provide pleasure.

Leave a Reply

