Be a better human

I have a difficult time recognizing if someone has been a jerk if it’s fairly clear it wasn’t intentional.  I’m good at making excuses for other people’s bad behavior.  But at what point is someone just a jerk?

A couple of weeks ago I had an encounter with an academic superior where I was spoken to disrespectfully and shocked by what was spewing out of his mouth.  A few years ago I would have left with tears, but what I thought as I sat there and listened to him was, “I don’t care.  I don’t want to be like you nor do what you do”.  It was wonderfully liberating to walk away laughing instead of crying, with my head held high.  Though, with a slightly deflated ego.

Leave a Reply

