Solace as a place

Wherever I live I try to find a place where I can find solace, usually involving somewhere in nature.  When I lived in San Diego, I spent hours on the cliffs overlooking Blacks Beach.  My favorite time was dusk when the ocean turned a golden iridescent color. As the sun sank toward the horizon, the reflection shot back toward the shore, creating a blinding golden path.

Cliffs of La Jolla, Blacks Beach

When I moved to Washington, DC, I struggled to find that place, particularly due to living in an urban center with more buildings than open space.  DC is known for it’s numerous parks and which helped, but it didn’t quite make up for the ocean.  I found myself going on runs to the National Cathedral.  Partially because it was only 2 miles away.  But there was a beautiful English garden there that I’d spend sometimes hours at.  I would lie on the wooden benches in the early evening and stare up at the majestic building before me.

National Cathedral Garden

National Cathedral at twilight

I have been thinking about where that place is for me in Hawaii and what resonates most is Diamond Head.   I suppose not many people around the world can say they find comfort in walking around a crater from an extinct volcano.  I am fortunate and live on the base of Diamond Head and can walk out the door and follow the sidewalk that encircles it.  It’s about 3 and a half miles long with some amazing views from the cliffs overlooking Diamond Head beach where packs of surfers congregate.  My favorite time to walk is at night when the traffic disappears; I can hear waves crashing down far below and see the whites of the waves as they crash in the dark.

Diamond Head crater from above

Diamond Head from the sea

One thought on “Solace as a place

Leave a Reply

