Graduate in less than 20 pages

I‘m 20 pages and 2 passing grades away from graduating.  It feels great! It is indeed anticlimactic so far.  Once I graduate,  I am expecting someone to jump out of the bushes and enthusiastically announce , “YOU DID IT”.  Or a parade down Kalakaua would suffice: me riding on a float of flowers, waving my hand like Miss America.  For now there’s not much celebration but it has begun to quiet down, mostly in my head.

So in three years I quit my job, moved to Hawaii, managed to pass all my classes (so far), lost a parent (that’s a whammy), started a committed relationship and finished my final research project.  Most importantly, I’ve acquired three NREM t-shirts.  I have spent hours agonizing how long it’s taken me, but now I see it’s amazing I’ve accomplished such greatness in only three years.  

And today was probably my last bike ride from campus, around Diamond Head, Kalakua to Waikiki and back home.  I’m ok with that, there are many new bike routes ahead of me.  Though I do feel sad as things slowly come to an end.  I haven’t graduated yet so I won’t linger long on the changes to come.

Leave a Reply

