Growing up, Take 2

My last blog entry was shortly after I graduated from graduate school.  Three to four months later I have found myself with a job in my field of interest.  I feel like I should be happier than I am but the reality of joining the working world also weighs on me.

It’s strange to be in an office again.  The rhythm of office life: you wake up, get to work, work, head home, home.  Maybe you stop somewhere, go to yoga, hang out with a friend.  The predictability is comforting but stifling at times.  For now I need the consistency and stability of a paycheck. And as much as it sounds great to have all the free time in the world, even that gets old.  I do believe we were meant to productive as humans and feel like we’ve accomplished something with our days.  Whether we are too productive or not enough, both can cause problems.

So here my journey begins of being a “professional” in Hawaii.  Graduate school was exactly what I needed and I had a blast but it feels like it’s time to grow up (again).   I’m nervous I will lose sight of why I came here but it’s hard to forget with the spectacular view of the ocean from your office.

The view of Honolulu, Diamond Head and the ocean from the office

The view of Honolulu, Diamond Head and the ocean from the office

Leave a Reply

